Day 1 Feet First

So I’m jumping in feet first into this writing challenge and I have to say that it’s both exhilarating and nerve wrecking at the same time.  The funny thing about doing something that you have been dreaming about (don’t get me wrong I’m not talking about simply blogging) but actually the exercise of writing; or should I say writing well- well enough that people will want to read and/or comment on it.

The ultimate goal is to write novels both fiction and nonfiction but we have all heard of how you are supposed to build an audience first, preferably online, using social media and all of that.  But what I’m talking about is the ability to sit down and just write; about whatever suits me.  No agenda, no preconceived notions, but real honest prose.  It can be both vulnerable or in your face as long as it’s interesting.

I can remember when I was a kid and how I loved to read (I still do) but I would read mystery novels (age appropriate of course) and would be lost in the story on many a summer afternoon.  That’s how I want to write; I want to engage the reader and make them feel the story and if I’m lucky; have them reminisce about the experience years later.  So what do I expect to gain from this experience?

Everything.

I discovered my love of writing in January 2009 when I was invited to an artist showcase that would take place the following month and was asked to contribute a short story. With less that 2 weeks to come up with something I sat down late one night and started writing; unfiltered and unabashed I wrote for two hours straight.

What I discovered was that I not only loved reading novels, short stories and the like but that I also loved creating them too.  In February when it was time for me to read my short story (after I got over the stage fright) it was an amazing feeling.  The audience was so quiet you could hear a pin drop and there was immediate inquiries of when will the book be available for purchase.  This was all the confirmation that I needed. A writer is born!

Join the Conversation

