Day 14 “To Whom It May Concern”

Dearest Friend,
Where are you today?  You usually show up bright and early…when I wake up and turn on the lights you are right there; my constant companion, ready to take on the world.  But today you are MIA, a no show and the worst thing is that you didn’t give me a heads up or anything!  I know this is not like you, to be so flippant with our relationship.
Not you, my ride or die partner!  You’re the one constant thing in my life that I can count on.  This is so unlike you to not show up, I can only assume that something must be really wrong; there must be a really good reason that you are not here with me, for me!  I know we’ve had many, many conversations about how it is time for me to step out on my own and that I am stronger than I think.
You always tell me “you have wings, they work, use them!”  But see the problem is I’m only strong when your around.  I’m only strong because I know that you’re right there standing beside in front of me; shielding me from the hurt and rejection. I don’t know how I’m supposed to go about my day without you; how am I supposed to continue to write my stories for the whole world blogosphere to see if you don’t show up, and I mean quickly?
How do I deal with the rejection of no one reading my brilliant boring post today, what if someone criticizes or worse; down right hates what I write today? Damn it! Where are you, why have you left me here all alone to deal with this cruel world by myself? Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to skip sharing my thoughts today.Yeah that’s it; I’ll wait until you show back up before I write anything today.
I know you’re not far away and you probably just got hung up doing something else. I know your busy; heck how could you not be? That’s it, you didn’t abandon me, you are not MIA you simply had to show up for someone else today, that’s all. I’m sorry I got so mad at you before; I didn’t mean to.  It’s just that I have become so accustomed dependent on you being there that I didn’t stop to think that maybe, just maybe you have somewhere else to be today.
I will wait for your return and then everything will be back to normal again.  Or will it?
Every time I think about the word ‘Courage’…several definitions come to mind.
But the one that relates to me the most is the Wikipedia version: Courage –  is the ability and willingness to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty, or intimidation.

photo courtesy of:   http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3ARoaring_Lion_Travis_Jervey.jpg

Writing 101 Assignment Day Fourteen:

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there. 
Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.
4 responses to “Day 14 “To Whom It May Concern”

Join the Conversation

