Day 19 “Infinity and Beyond”

It’s been a tough week and I would like to say that I don’t know why. But I can’t because I do. It all started with that damn Writing 101 assignment; you know Day 14 where we’re supposed to write about something we fear and for the twist write it in letter form.
Well I was doing great minding my business happily chugging along posting almost daily to the varied prompts; and then I have to go and write about ‘Courage’.  Yeah that’s right I addressed my letter to my friend and constant companion courage.
But this time I wrote how about how I would feel if my BFF didn’t show up; how I would be am lost without ’em.  And it seems as if as soon as I acknowledged that my BFF has the option to not show up; bright and early with the sunrise (actually I wake up at 5:20 am) the unthinkable happened.
At first it was kind of tongue in cheek and I didn’t put too much stock in the feelings that were flowing from the tips of my fingers as they tapped on the keyboard; but as time wore on it became increasing, painstakingly obvious that I was/am relying on my BFF too much!
I had made the cardinal mistake of every writer, aspiring or otherwise; I opened the door for doubt to creep in; creep into the recesses of my mind where I keep my creativity.  And like the thief that doubt is; it began to rob me.  Little by little, word by word it took my thoughts and my speech.
Gone was the fearless and confident writer who didn’t care or need anyone’s acceptance of her prose, but wrote because telling stories was what she loved to do.  My Mojo was hurt.  Left wounded on the battlefield (aka a Macbook Pro keyboard), left to just wander aimlessly in the recesses of my mind and die a slow death of courage starvation.
But then it happened!  I woke up this morning and my BFF was back. Just like that!  No mention of where it had disappeared to or why it had abandoned me, it just showed up and embraced me like a long lost sister.  We laughed and cried and spoke and wrote until our separation felt like a thing of the past.
And we made a promise, no a pact; we vowed to never leave each other for longer than a few hours ever again and not without checking with the other that it is okay to fly solo for a while.
And with that I’m back; back to ponder and share thoughts with any and everyone willing to read them.  How sweet it is; the carefree world of blogging and writing without apprehension or angst or fear.  Just me and my BFF and my keyboard.  One word at a time.  “To Infinity and Beyond!”

photo source: http://www.nasa.gov/externalflash/Buzz_Lightyear/web/

Writing 101, Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’
Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred  words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.
Join the Conversation

